CBL Regular Season Award Winners Announced

After a great debut season, the CBL regular-season award winners have now been confirmed.

Rebranded from the Academy Basketball League (ABL) to the College Basketball League ahead of the 2022/23 season, players from across Tier Two’s three groups have now been recognised for their standout performances.

Congratulations to all those chosen and don’t forget you can attend next week’s CBL playoff final between #1 seeds Shenley Brook End and #2 seeds Bracknell and Wokingham College at Manchester’s National Basketball Performance Academy.

Tickets to attend the final are free, but still need to be purchased for capacity reasons. To secure your ticket, please head to the Basketball England shop by clicking here.

Group A

There’s a clean sweep across the MVP and Coach of the Year selections as Robertas Barkauskas and Billy Beddow of unbeaten group winners MK5D Shenley Brook End win the respective awards.

Barkauskas is joined in the All Conference team selections by MK5D captain William Issekya, whilst group runners up Nottingham have two selections in the form of Dijarn Russell-Walters and Jarrod John-Henriques.

The five is rounded out by Carmel College’s Sean Spencer, who helped his programme to third spot.

Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate may have had a tough season as they went 4-8 overall, but first year Beau Sproul still caught the eye of fellow coaches as he nabs the U17 Player of the Year award.

Group B

After The Crest Academy and New City College secured 10-2 records to dominate Group B, it’s no surprise to see both programmes involved across the end of season awards.

New City’s Josiah Philip collects the MVP award, whilst his coach Andre Lockhart is also recognised.

Crest’s Liam Campbell and Anthony Wilson are both included in the conference team, with St Charles’ forward Hunter Kelleher and Holy Trinity’s Jayden McPherson also selected.

Noa Istrefi rounds out the picks with his U17 Player of the Year award, providing a positive for last season’s champs Dagenham Park after they missed the playoffs this time around.

Group C

There’s plenty to celebrate in the Amoo-Gottfried household as son Myers and father Martin both win awards for league winners Bracknell & Wokingham College.

Gabe Romero-Sanz also helped the eventual #2 seeds to an 11-1 record and is named in the all conference team, as are Haringey duo Chudi Dioramma and Lebron Roach.

Juan Nguema is COHENEL’s only recipient for 2022/23, rounding out the five from Group C.

Michael Osuji had a great campaign for second place Haringey and was a worthy winner of the U17 Player of the Year.