All-Conference teams announced across ABL

As we head towards the end of ABL awards week, we take the opportunity to recognise All-Conference selections across the league.

In the East, the 1st team choices are understandably dominated by Haringey and New City, with the defending champs putting forward Alex Distras (31.7ppg, 5.0apg, 26.7eff) and Ndewedo Newbury (23.4ppg, 10.7rpg, 36.1eff), and NCC contributing Lanre Ayinla (21.0ppg, 8.8rpg, 31.2eff) and Defensive Player of the Year Moses Gordon (14.5ppg, 10.5rpg, 24.5eff).

Josh Green (20.6ppg, 3.3rpg, 16.2eff) rounds out the five, with the Essex Rebels guard enjoying a solid season for the #9 seeds.

Northern Conference winners Queen Ethelburga’s enjoy a pair of recipients, with Elijah Walsh (34.3ppg, 6.1rpg, 31.8eff) and Latrell Davis (30.1ppg, 4.3rpg, 19.7eff) getting the nod, whilst Stoke’s Alex Tew (18.0ppg, 15.8rpg, 30.8eff), Carmel’s Fin Moss (21.2ppg, 12.5rpg, 22.3eff) and Aston Manor’s Akol Ring (13.8ppg, 7.0rpg, 9.5eff) are all included.

After their unbeaten exploits in the Southern Conference, HTS Storm have two players in the All 1st team, with Cameron Hildreth (22.9ppg, 8.5rpg, 25.8eff) and Brandon Laryea (13.0ppg, 5.1rpg, 12.8eff) both involved.

Conal Parnell (24.1ppg, 11.4rpg, 31.2eff) from The North School joins the Storm duo, with John Roan’s James Aboaba (23.8ppg, 9.7rpg, 24.5eff) and King Henry’s Matthew Stokes (16.7ppg, 13.8rpg, 22.7eff) filling the remaining slots.

St Charles’ Patrick Avorkliyah won Coach of the Year on Tuesday, and two of Avorkliyah’s players are included in the Western Conference All 1st team. Abiodun Adedo (17.8ppg, 8.9rpg, 21.7eff) and Tyler Small (13.5ppg, 5.1rpg, 13.7eff) were both popular selections, and Christian Barbieri (27.2ppg, 8.2rpg, 24.6eff) also makes the grade from Harris Academy St John’s Wood.

That leaves two spots for COHENEL players after their run to the Final Fours, with Emmanuel Omosanya (16.6ppg, 4.6spg, 23.2eff) and Blessing Makanda (16.4ppg, 6.7rpg, 21.5eff) both earning a spot.

ABL All-Conference 2nd teams

Eastern Conference – Owen Young (Haringey), Riley Taylor (Essex), Tash Chawira (Long Road), Kyan Dar (Mayfield), Abdul Maliq Oke (New City)

Northern Conference – Dan Kelsey (Hartlepool), Bailey England (City of Leeds), Ellis Evans (Carmel), Bayley Gaunt (Stoke), Jackson Bisungu (Nottingham)

Southern Conference – William Bidi (HCACP), Owen Longman and Evan Longman (both Northfleet), Seal Osajivbe (John Roan), Akobuike Orlu (Norwood)

Western Conference – Karyiek Dixon (Oasis), Joseph Powell (COHENEL), Israel Olalekan and Joshua Alimi (both Capital City), Michael Ademola (St Charles)

Tomorrow is the final day of ABL awards as we announce both the four Conference MVPs at 10:00am.

The ABL final between New City College and Haringey Sixth Form College is next Wednesday, 18 March, with a 12:00pm tip. Entry is free for all spectators and that includes the ability to stick around and watch the WEABL (2:30pm) and EABL (5:00pm) finals on the same day.