ABL Coach of the Year Awards announced!

As we wait for another week to enjoy the season’s Playoff Finals on Wednesday 3 April at University of Essex, we’ve got a number of regular season awards to announce from across the ABL conferences. We get underway by announcing the worthy winners of this season’s ABL Coach of the Year award as voted for by their fellow ABL coaches. 

In the North, a perfect 10-0 for Archbishop Beck meant that Head Coach Delme Herriman was a natural selection for Coach of the Year. Score more points per contest (98.0ppg) than any other side, and owning the stingiest defence in the conference (60.9ppg), Herriman has marshalled his troops impressively throughout the regular season. 

Moving into the Central Conference, another unbeaten regular season winner in Aston Manor has seen their Coach recognised for a stunning campaign. Aston’s Curtis Xavier has led his side past all comers in 2018/19 and is a deserving recipient of the award. 

In the East, Haringey Sixth Form College have been the team to beat and understandably Head Coach Franck Batimba has been awarded Coach of the Year. With a spotless 16-0 record and his side averaging a stunning 102.8ppg on offence, Batimba has been singled out by his peers as the top coach in the Conference. 

Finally, the race to win the South Conference could have been closer between St Charles and Raines Park, but it was St Charles that came out on top and their Head Coach Patrick Avorkliyah has been given the nod as the Conference’s Coach of the Year. Helping to develop young stars like Abiodun Adedo and Mohamed Mohamed have only strengthened Avorkliyah’s claim to the award for 2018/19. 

Elaine Taylor, Principle at St Charles: “Patrick is an inspiration to the basketball team and it is his determination and ability to motivate the players that has led to their outstanding success this year. Patrick has very high expectations but is also very supportive of all his players. I am delighted that he’s been awarded Coach of the Year, it is so well deserved. 

Tomorrow we’ll be announcing this season’s ABL Defensive Players of the Season from across all four conferences as we continue our week of seasonal awards.