Voting process announced for 2019/20 Academy End of Season Awards

As the play-offs get underway in the ABL, the process has begun to recognise the best under 19 players in the country as part of the ABL end of season awards.

Coaches recently completed a process to nominate the top three players from their programme, along with their own team’s candidates for the Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player awards.

The nominees were then added to a voting form for all coaches to rank their top 10 players, without voting for anyone from their own programme, for the Most Valuable Player award and All-Conference 1st and 2nd Teams.

Teams will also rank their top three coaches for Coach of the Year and top three for Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player.

The voting deadline for all programmes is Friday 21 February. Once all the votes are in, the award winners will be decided and then announced the week before the Academy Finals, beginning on Monday 9 March.

Last year’s winners

MVP – Archbishop Beck’s Phil Deveney, Aston Manor’s Conroy Hayden, Haringey’s Franklin Agu and New City College’s Aaron Badibo.

Defensive Player of the Year – Archbishop Beck’s Phil Deveney, County Upper’s Jonathan Bourne, Haringey’s Franklin Agu and Raines Foundation’s Jason Prince.

Most Improved Player – Queen Ethelburgas’ Tommy Skelton, Aston Manor’s Ryan Anglin, Leyton’s Chima Obikwelu and Laja Ogidan from New City.

Coach of The Year – Archbishop Beck’s  Delme Herriman, Aston Manor’s Curtis Xavier, Haringey’s Franck Batimba and St Charles’ Patrick Avorkliyah.

2018/19 Team of the Year

ABL 1st Team All Conference

Northern Conference 

Phil Deveney, Dante Sofia, Luke Dalton (all Archbishop Beck), Harry Resendez (Allerton High School), Findlay Moss (Carmel College) 

Central Conference 

Ryan Anglin, Conroy Hayden, Zach Powell (all Aston Manor Academy), Michael Jara (Stoke-on-Trent College), Kelechi Asuzu (County Upper School) 

Eastern Conference 

Franklin Agu, Alex Distras (Haringey Sixth Form College), Sean Trumper (The North School), Lanre Ayinla (John Roan School), Chima Obikwelu (Leyton Sixth Form College) 

Southern Conference 

Aaron Badibo, Jason Prince (both New City College), Abiodun Adedo, Mohamed Mohamed (St Charles College), Bradley Tabansi (King Henry School) 

ABL 2nd Team All Conference

Northern Conference 

Tommy Skelton, Elijah Walsh, Joe Barrett (all Queen Ethelburgas), Bailey England (Allerton High School), Ellis Evans (Carmel College) 

Central Conference

 Jonathan Bourne, Barley Day (both County Upper School), Ernest Mawomo (Gateway College), Bayley Gaunt, Alex Tew (both Stoke-on-Trent College) 

Eastern Conference

Seal Osajivbe (John Roan School), Adrian Okoro (Northfleet Technology College), Rawle Allicock, Owen Young (both Haringey Sixth Form College), Rupert Burnett (COHENEL) 

Southern Conference 

Laja Ogidan (New City College), Louis Roberts (Holy Trinity School), Marc Sylvest (Three Rivers Academy), Simon Olanipekun (Raines Foundation School) Anthony TJ Hibbert (King Henry School)